Creditable Service Cheat Sheet

This sheet is being provided to assist you in determining whether you have
included all creditable service when preparing the service schedule of the
pension application or a Creditable Service Form of an active member. When in
doubt as to the creditability of a service period, please contact the Office of
Pensions for advice or a determination.

Review Member Actuarial Information (Form P-1)

The data on this form may contain information on a member’s prior State of Delaware
service of which you may not be aware of or for which you may not have
documentation. You can request verification from the previous employer(s) prior to
submitting the pension application. The member may also have provided information
regarding military service as well as employment for another State or Federal
Government; a county or municipality of the State of Delaware or a political subdivision
of another State; or in an accredited private school or college. If no information is
provided on this form, please make it a point to check with the member.

Military Service
(Need DD Form 214 for Verification)

If the member was hired prior to 7/1/76 and came into State service within 5 years after
his/her completion of his full-time active-duty, or within 5 years after his/her completion
of a course of professional or vocational training, if such course was begun within 5
years after his/her completion of his tour of duty, he/she can receive up to 5 years free
military service. Free military service should be listed as the first line under pension
creditable service on the application, if it was prior to the employment, otherwise it
should be listed chronologically.

Note: Free military service can only be used to establish eligibility towards a 30-year
retirement. It may not be used towards establishing service eligibility for a reduced
service pension; however, after the member has established eligibility for a reduced
service pension it will be applied in determining the reduction factor.

If the member was hired after 7/1/76, active military service is purchasable at an
actuarial rate. It does not matter if they started State employment within 5 years after
his/her discharge. This military service should be listed under buy-in service on the
pension application.
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Members called to active duty while employed by the State, and are out on a Military
Leave of Absence, may receive free service credit (interrupting military), as long as the
member enters active duty within 30 days of leaving State employment or within 30
days of exhausting accumulated leave and returns to State employment within 90 days
of discharge from active duty.

Note: A member is covered by the Uniformed Services Employment and
Reemployment Act (USERRA) during the period of initial active duty training provided
he/she returns to employment based on the USERRA guidelines and provided the
required documentation is submitted.

Refer to Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA), as
guidelines differ on re-entering employment based on length of tour of duty.

Other Professional Educational Employment
(Need OPEE Verification Form)

A member hired prior to 7/1/76, who has full-time other professional educational
employment for another State, a municipality in another State, the Federal government
or an accredited private school or college anywhere in the world and subsequently
became an employee as a schoolteacher, professional administrative or supervisory
employee or school nurse employed in a public school, the State Department of Public
Instruction, the University of Delaware, Delaware State University or Delaware
Technical and Community College, may purchase up to 4 years of OPEE service at the
time of his/her retirement. The cost is an amount equal to 5% of the final average
compensation for each month being purchased (4 years = 48 months). The rate of
recoupment is usually 3 years. Any additional service beyond the 4 years and up to a
maximum of 10 years may be purchased at an actuarial rate. The rate of actuarial buy-
in recoupment is approximately 11 years.

Members hired after 7/1/76 with other professional educational employment may
purchase up to 10 years at an actuarial rate. Again, the rate of recoupment is
approximately 11 years.

Note: The purchase of other professional educational employment (OPEE) may only
be used for eligibility when establishing a 30-year retirement. It may not be used
towards establishing service eligibility for a reduced service pension; however, after the
member has established eligibility for a reduced service pension, purchased OPEE
service will be applied in determining the reduction factor.
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State Service

Creditable service for date of hire and date of termination is determined using
exact dates. (Unless a member received a letter notifying him/her of a creditable
service audit completed by the Office of Pensions, which used entire paycycle dates
prior to the implementation of the use of exact dates.) Also, until further notice:
Exception is for 9 month, 10 month, or 11 month employees. These should be reflected
as their contract dates: 9/1 — 5/31, 9/1 — 6/30, and 8/1 — 6/30.

Leave of Absence (LOA)
A leave of absence is determined on a paycycle basis.

Prior to 7/1/01

Use semi-monthly dates. (1% — 15", 16" — 30"/31°"
After 7/1/01
Use bi-weekly paycycle dates.

If a member is entitled to pay in a paycycle, credit will be given for the paycycle. Leaves
of absence should be listed only if there is no entitlement to pay for a whole paycycle.
LOA'’s are purchasable service at time of retirement. LOA documentation (to show that
it was approved, what type of leave, and the dates of the LOA) should be forwarded
with the pension application or creditable service schedule of the member.

Workers’ Compensation (W.C.)

Workers’ Compensation periods are listed with exact dates as long as the member is
receiving a supplement from the State or using accrued paid leave. Once all accrued
leave and/or supplement is exhausted, it is then treated as a Leave of Absence without
pay due to workers’ compensation, on a paycycle basis. Again, only whole paycycles
missed are listed. This period is also purchasable. W.C. documentation (Agreement as
to Compensation, Check Advices, Final Receipt of Compensation, and Salary
Adjustment Sheets) should be forwarded with the pension application if the W.C. period
occurs within the last 5 years of employment. The Office of Pensions will request
additional periods of W.C. documentation, if necessary. This information will be used to
ensure that the W.C. adjustments are applied to the proper paycycles in determining the
applicant’s highest 36 months of salary.

Comprehensive Employment & Training Act (CETA)

CETA employment is not creditable service if the employee was only a participant in the
CETA program. Employment in an administrative capacity of the program may be
purchased at retirement at an actuarial rate. CETA periods are listed with exact dates.
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Suspensions without pay
Suspensions without pay are also determined on a paycycle basis. This is non-
purchasable service.

Casual/Seasonal/Durational
Casual/Seasonal/Durational employment is non-creditable. It also is non-purchasable
service.

Part-Time employment

A position where the employee worked less than 2 %2 hours per day (50 hours per
month) and the part-time rate is less than fifty (50) times hourly minimum wage is
non-creditable service. This is also non-purchasable service.

Regular, Part-Time employment

An authorized, budgeted position which requires at least 2 %2 hours per day (50 hours
per month) or where the part-time rate is at least fifty (50) times hourly minimum wage
for at least 9 months during a period of 12 consecutive months.

Temporary employment
May be considered pension creditable for an AGENCY if:

-it is an authorized & budgeted position,

-the position is vacant and employee occupied the position on a temporary or limited
term basis,

-the original occupant of the position is on a leave of absence WITHOUT PAY,
-dual incumbency approval has been authorized.

For a SCHOOL DISTRICT, if occupant is employed with a temporary contract and/or as
a long term substitute with a contract.

Break in Service
If a member leaves State service before acquiring 5 years of consecutive creditable

service, pension service credits will be forfeited. They will be restored if:

-the member’s discontinuance of employment is due to absence on account of military
service, disability, or approved leave, and he/she again becomes an member within 4
months following the completion of such military service, disability, or approved leave,
or
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-the member again becomes a member within 4 months after leaving State
employment, or

- the member again becomes a member within 2 years after being involuntarily
terminated (layoff, riffed) from State employment, or

- the member subsequently acquires 5 years of credited service, provided he/she
repays any contributions withdrawn plus interest.

If Hired Prior to 1/1/2012;

If a member ceases to be employed after acquiring 5 years of consecutive credited
service, he/she is fully vested and qualifies for a pension at retirement age unless
he/she withdrew the accumulated contributions. Upon termination, a vested pension
application or a withdrawal form must be completed.

If a member receives a refund of the contributions and subsequently returns to State
employment, he/she should contact the Office of Pensions for information relative to the
options available in regard to prior service credit.

If Hired On or After 1/1/2012:

If a member ceases to be employed after acquiring 10 years of credited service and 5 of
the 10 years are consecutive, he/she is fully vested and qualifies for a pension at
retirement age unless he/she withdrew the accumulated contributions. Upon
termination, a vested pension application or a withdrawal form must be completed.

If a member receives a refund of the contributions and subsequently returns to State
employment, he/she should contact the Office of Pensions for information relative to the
options available in regard to prior service credit.

Terminations

The ending date listed on the service schedule should be the exact date of termination.
This includes an official retirement date (as well as vested pensions).

A PCC-1 form should be forwarded to the Office of Pensions advising of any terminal
leave payoffs for possible options to extend for any and all terminations.

If there was a withdrawal of pension contributions, credit will not be restored unless a
repayment is made and the member was vested at the time they left. Otherwise the
service cannot be restored until he/she is vested in his/her current period of
employment.
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